Usher Earl: Unfortunately, Final Entry of 2011

As I write my final installment for the Trenton Makes Thunder Blog, I had a few funny observations I wanted to share. One observation was made by an intern regarding how the players prepare themselves for a ballgame. He said that before the players take the field they loosen up in the clubhouse by dancing to Techno Music in the dark, lit only by glow sticks! Seems like an unusual way to get ready for a game, but who could complain with the success that the team has had for most of this year.

 

Another observation that was made was during an extremely hot July home stand. As I was seating fans I spotted a fellow usher who was sporting long pants with a hooded jacket over his head and zippered up to his neck. I approached him and asked why he was dressed so warmly in such severely hot weather. He then unzipped his hooded jacket, and to my amazement, he showed me that he also had a long sleeve shirt underneath his Thunder polo! He said that he dressed in this manner because the material he was wearing was protecting him from the UV rays of the sun and was wicking away the sweat from his body, making him much cooler on the hottest of days. Different strokes for different folks, I guess.

 

The funny observations continued with the Thunder’s 3rd Annual Mustache Bash during the August 9th home stand. The event was designed to pay homage to the famous Yankees of past who have sported mustaches, such as Thurman Munson, Don Mattingly and Goose Gossage. The team also honored and recognized famous mustaches throughout history and fans were able to nominate themselves for the “Wildest ‘Stache of the Night” Award. But for me, the most entertaining thing to watch was the Thunder Staff sporting all types of mustaches for the event. Some staff members valiantly tried to grow a mustache for the first time, others decided to skillfully paint them on instead, as well as, those who decided on the stick-on variety. Whatever the personal choice, it was a great time by all who participated in the hairy antics!

 

I would like to make a few acknowledgements as I finish my last of five blogs for the Trenton Thunder. I would first and foremost like to thank Bill Cook (Public Relations Director) who gave me the opportunity and encouragement to write this blog. I would also like to thank Jay Burnham (Broadcasting Director) who was nice enough to edit and post the blogs to the Internet. Great thanks also go to Will Smith (General Manager) and Ryan Crammer (Operations VP) for authorizing and approving this project. Finally, I would be remiss not to thank Susanna Hall (Office Manager), who with her support and direction allowed me to fulfill my responsibilities as a first year usher and ticket taker.

 

It was a wonderful season and I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to meet such interesting people along the way. I enjoyed building relationships with the front office staff, the game day staff and the interns. But most importantly, what I will take from this season was the relationships that I made with the Thunder fans. Without their enthusiastic support of the home team, none of this would have been possible. Trenton has the best fans in Minor League Baseball and I was so pleased to have had a front row seat in witnessing it this season!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Usher Earl: Unfortunately, Final Entry of 2011

  1. Anonymous says:

    Interesting blogs during the season, keep up the good work. Hope to see you next year!

  2. Tony V says:

    Earl gives it his all – no matter what he does. I hope he will be back next year.

  3. Leslie Ayres says:

    You’re the best Earl. After so many years, finally caught up with you, although its cyber space, for now. Perhaps I’ll see you soon. Your friend, Leslie Ayres. Hare Krsna Prabhu!

Leave a Reply

